Ouachita mountain mines

Urban exploration in Arkansas
rockhound92
0-99 Poster
0-99 Poster

Ouachita mountain mines

Post by rockhound92 »

So I'm trying to do my contribution, there may not be many caves except for a couple, but thousands of mines are all over the Ouachita mountains. Most aren't closed unless really unstable or are filled with water. The forest service boys don't care to much if you go in them, since a lot of rockhounders are in and out of those places all the time collecting. There is a cave in hot springs at a park with a tank on it around grand central avenue. It's supposed to have a legend behind about 7 sacred caves in the valley of the vapors. So it may be true, you just go to find the other six lol. So that I guess that's my contribution I'm pretty new to all this and try to get my foot in the door here. If anybody wants to host a meet during cooling weather we can all spends days roaming in and out of mines. One good place to start is Bemis hill in pike county.
Boredom is the deadliest poison.
WILLIAM F. BUCKLEY, JR
s.sisco
500+ Poster
500+ Poster

Re: Ouachita mountain mines

Post by s.sisco »

Btw I'm a douche. That is all...
rockhound92
0-99 Poster
0-99 Poster

Post by rockhound92 »

Yeah I read the article, so there may be a seed of truth to the whole story. So it could be plausible, if there was another six caves, they probable were destroyed from the building of bathhouses. Another article on the web talks about there was another cave like place on bathhouse row, but it was destroyed during the building of the bathhouses. Anyway the article talks about a Mr. dale who said it was there but it eventually was blasted away. the article said Mr.. dale may have never existed because they didn't see a dale turn up in census and other documents in the 1800's.
WILLIAM F. BUCKLEY, JR
s.sisco
500+ Poster
500+ Poster

Post by s.sisco »