Indian Burial Cave/Big Mouth Cave @ Lake of Ozrks

Urban exploration in Missouri
nateball
0-99 Poster
0-99 Poster

Indian Burial Cave/Big Mouth Cave @ Lake of Ozrks

Post by nateball »

I just found this online. (I am a newbie and tried to search, so I don't think this is a repost, but I have been wrong before) I am heading down there tonight, if anyone knows if any of the cable car system or anything else is left, I'd like to try and find it.
"Indian Burial Cave was originally known as Big Mouth Cave. In 1959, James F. Atkisson discovered artifacts and several Indian burials within the shelter-like mouth of the cave. Soon thereafter, the Atkisson family opened it to the public, not so much for the cave portion but for the artifacts, which they displayed.

A few years later it was leased to Lee Mace and Al Lechner of Lake Ozark. The new operators installed an inclined cable car, built a gift shop at the parking lot, dug out enough fill within the cave beyond the Indian burial area to create a lake, installed a pump to recycle water, housed in the opening, installed a few dim lights and a pontoon boat, and enlarged upon the Indian burial and artifact exhibits.

The cave was open to the public until the death of owner Lee Mace about 10 years ago and has since been closed. It is no longer promoted in the area. It is essentially an abandoned show cave operation."
[zimmy/Natl. Cave Assoc]

And this too....