Paris Springs Hotel

Urban exploration in Missouri
Setherick
0-99 Poster
0-99 Poster

Paris Springs Hotel

Post by Setherick »

This is not strictly a UE question, but the people on this board are probably the best local history experts that I know. I’m a graduate student at Missouri State and recently while in Carthage, I found a copy of Edward Bellamy’s Looking Backward: 2000 – 1887 at a flea market for a couple of bucks. Bellamy’s novel is one of the best selling, best received Utopian novels. It was first published in 1888. My copy is an edition from 1889. That is the part that interested me.

This is the part that may interest you. The novel I purchased was given to a woman named Eva Bowker of Paris Springs (as evident by the inscription on the front and back covers of the book) for Christmas 1892 by a man named E.G. Paris. At the time, E.G. Paris ran a popular hotel in Paris Springs Missouri (a few miles west of Halltown) in Lawrence County. The hotel was popular because of the reported healing properties of the local mineral spring. A few years before, Paris had sold half of his investiture of the hotel to B.F. Bowker, the local shoemaker. I am still tracking down the connection of Eva Bowker to B.F. Bowker, if there is one.

Why I am posting this here is I’m curious if anyone knows about the hotel in Paris Springs? I’m sure the site no longer exists. I’ve read a couple of local histories, but haven’t been able to extrapolate much more detail than I have provided. Any help you could provide would be much appreciated. The reason I am doing the research, by the way, is that I eventually want to do a reception study of the novel based around Eva Bowker, women’s issues, and how social problems would have been different between 1890 SWMO where the book was given as a gift and 1890 Boston what the novel is commenting on. Whereas 1890 Boston was an industrialized city, 1890 Paris Springs was still a developing frontier town.